Share your EOLv3 Use Cases: What are you trying to do on EOL?

The EOL team is interested in hearing about what you are looking for and/or trying to accomplish on EOL. Please feel free to share your personal and professional “use cases” in this thread. We will use this information to improve the support scaffolding on the site and to prioritize new development.

Thanks for asking! I’m a programmer, teacher at Montgomery College (web dev), nature lover/gardener/photographer-for-fun and have been involved with Rockville Science Center and the Rockville Environment Commission. I’d love to someday combine all of those interests and create an open source project involving cataloging photos & comments about local flora and fauna, and using it as a teaching tool and community project. I heard you (Bob) talking about an EOL API at a talk you gave a few months back and thought how wonderful it would be to be able to identify the species of whatever is in those photos and include a link to the right entry in EOL so people could find out more from a wider community. But writing this out, maybe I’m approaching it backwards and the API should be used to add the photos to EOL instead of creating a separate local database, or maybe both… Anyway, that is my rambling answer to “What are you trying to do on EOL?”

1 Like

Hi, I used EOL to cross check plant taxonomies from various historic resources and digitially capture groups of plant, animals, and insects taxonmies for further use in outputs with Inaturalist for quick reference guides or identifcation guides specifically to honey bee plant fodder, pests and other useful plants and animals to their habitat or ethnobotanical use.

Also I add additional common names in various languages as found in my various research and travel.