iRecord for UK wildlife images?

Hi all,

I’m completely new to this but I have been aware of EOL as a fantastic resource for a while. I have just been browsing UK wildlife and I notice that you have lots of iNaturalist media imported but nothing from the iRecord database which is much more popular in the UK. The images submitted with iRecord records have also been validated by experts (if anything to a higher standard!) and could be really useful for adding media right down to the most obscure families. Has anyone looked into being able to use this data on EOL?

Also, a minor suggestion but for Coleoptera in europe, a huge and complex taxonomic grouping, Udo Schmidt has fantastic photos which I am glad to see have been integrated with EOL. Because of their quality I would suggest that these were set by default as the profile image for all species photographed by him if that were possible as individual curators are unlikely attend many of these pages.

1 Like

As an aside, is there anything that I could help with in terms of curation considering I have no programming/coding experience?

Thanks for checking, @ewanparry ,

All images in eol.org must be available for re-use under a Creative Commons license, or in the public domain. An increasing array of online image collections meet this requirement, but I believe iRecord does not. We stand ready to include their collection if this changes!

Jen